Tags

, , ,

MA group

On Friday the 28th of March, the School of English MA students held a Textualities conference in the Western Gateway Building from 9.30am – 3.00pm in University College Cork. The conference gave all of the MA students a chance to showcase their work and also provided the perfect opportunity to inform those in attendance of their research topics. The conference incorporated presentations from all of the School of English MA programmes which included American Literature and Film, Irish Writing and Film, Modernities: Romanticism, Modernism, Postmodernism and Texts and Contexts: Medieval to Renaissance Literature.

As part of the MA Modernities group, I decided to present on the influence that conduct literature had on women and marriages in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. We were required to include a visual element to our presentations using the Pecha Kucha methodology. This format involves using 20 onscreen slides for 20 seconds each. Each slide automatically moves to the next after 20 seconds, therefore, the presentation concludes after 6 minutes and 40 seconds. Although this may sound quite basic and uncomplicated, anyone that presented on the day can account for the difficulties and struggles that occur in attempting to say almost anything meaningful and sensible in 20 seconds.

Prior to the conference, I volunteered to present my topic first on the day as the prospect of finishing my presentation early seemed appealing. Although I was incredibly nervous just as I stepped up to open the conference, I took a deep breath and managed to stay calm and composed throughout. I was quite happy as my presentation came to an end having kept my discourse in line with each 20 second slide. However, for future presentations, I feel that I could improve by maintaining more eye contact with audience members.

The conference was a huge success and was undoubtedly enjoyed by all in attendance. The entire MA group presented their work incredibly well and with great enthusiasm. A host of colorful, interesting and entertaining topics emerged and, along with this, the live blogging and tweeting on the day gave the conference a lively and energetic element. Taking part in the conference was a great experience and a highlight of the year. Well done to all!